The Institute of Experimental Physics of the Slovak Academy of Sciences in Košice was established on January 1, 1969. The first director of the Institute was Prof. Juraj Dubinský, who resided until 1980. Between 1980 and 1986 the Institute was headed by Academician Vladimír Hajko, 1986 -1990 by Dr. Michal Seman, 1990 -2007 by Dr. Peter Kopčanský and since 2007 it is headed by Dr. Karol Flachbart. The Institute of Experimental Physics consists of seven scientific departments and three scientific laboratories. They are:


  •     Department of Space Physics
  •     Department of Subnuclear Physics
  •     Department of Magnetism
  •     Department of Low Temperature
  •     Department of Metal Physics
  •     Department of Biophysics
  •     Department of Theoretical Physics
  •     Laboratory of Experimental Chemical Physics
  •     Laboratory of Materials Physics
  •     Laboratory of Nanomaterials and Applied Magnetism


    The Scientific Council elected by the research staff represents a consultative-advisory body. The institute employs about 130 people including research staff with the scientific qualification - Candidatus Scientiarum (PhD) and Doctor Scientiarum (second degree), graduate students, technicians and administration. Before the foundation of IEP there had been three decades of scientific activities in several physics laboratories and departments in the two main universities - the Technical University (TU) and the P. J. Šafárik University (UPJŠ) of the city of Košice.

Institute of Experimental Physics SAS
Watsonova 47
040 01 Košice
Slovak Republic

Phone: +421 55 792 220
Fax: +421 55 633 62 92
e-mail: sekr@saske.sk


Click for Kosice, Slovakia Forecast